top of page
  • isabellafalero

Bella in Barcelona!


By: Isabella Falero


The Summer of 2022 was a dream come true. I had the opportunity to study, live, and learn in a place I had always envisioned myself in ever since Cheetah Girls 2. In all seriousness, from the moment I signed up for the trip without knowing anyone to getting off of the plane in Miami after the summer of a lifetime, I knew that the experience was one that I not only cherished forever, but that molded me in the holistic, international, forward-thinking advertising professional I've always wanted to be. 

I was born and raised in Miami Beach, FL. My grandparents were born in Cuba, which makes me a second-generation Cuban-American. If we go back to the 1700s, my ancestors were originally from Spain before they moved to Cuba and started planting roots. For that reason, Hispanic culture is in my blood and is a huge driving force in everything that I do. I want to be part of lifting my people's voices up and representing them in today's culture, which is exactly what advertising does. This study abroad experience in Barcelona was supposed to give me the courage and foundation I needed to truly immerse myself in what it means to be Hispanic, gain a greater perspective for my purpose in communications, and of course, practice a bit of my Spanish and eat really, really, REALLY good food. 

I left Barcelona reinvigorated, with a fire in my belly, to make my mark and be the change I wanted to see in my Hispanic community. That could mean working on LATAM brands and markets to allow my expertise and passion flourish, but what it truly means is that DE&I must have a place in our industry, and I am excited to represent my Latinidad in the workplace.


I am reporting two years later and I did it! I interned at VML Miami on Wendy's and Valspar specifically on the U.S. Hispanic market! When I set my mind to something, I make it happen! - Bella Falero, 08/26/24, 7 pm



1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page